“the ghosts”

the mourning began before I had the time to contemplate

how it is to die

for you for me for all that once breathed

a beginning so dreaded that we cannot stop thinking about it

but once it happens

the ghosts take over and all thoughts stilled

when the ghosts are taking over

 

my mind is where the hauntings begin

spasms of desires to open my mouth to utter words from a different tongue

is it my fault then

to stomp on the grave by an unnamed death

i can weave one hundred faces for the ghost and cover up the true horror

there is only you and me

and the world is blind to what I see and ignorant of the acid that becomes my adrenaline

time is ticking but the ghost won’t stop

its hand goes right through my cheek and skips the real substance that is me

i am here and it cannot touch me but here i am

is that a slap or a caress

does that really matter

when the ghosts are taking over

 

tell them it only takes a second to love and hate

tell them you only need to ask to kill

for now I am becoming one of the ghosts

because I could not say no

 


featured image credit to Christine Wu

 


Leave a comment