She was Here

Inspired by US senator Elizabeth Warren. 

<She was Here>

-To all my sisters 

There are reasons why the stars still look like hope to me. 

She was Here when they told me I wasn’t good enough. 

She was Here when self-loathing cuts me from piece to piece 

She was Here when they stopped breathing 

She was Here when a dark hole was all I saw 

She was Here when silence thundered my core 

She was Here when my skin, my body was a disgust to me

She was Here when I shunned everyone away

She was Here when people stopped caring

She was Here when I broke down

She is Here when I am whole again

She will be Here when chaos come again

Because nevertheless, she persisted

Leave a Reply

