African Literature part 2

Sup 🙂 Yesterday was Friday again so I finally had some time to write and think about things. I published an article earlier yesterday called “The Chinese Way of Dying” so if you’re interesting, do check it out and leave comments. I started working on a short story that is somewhat gloomy and I hope I can share it very very soon.

BUT, the purpose of this post is to share with you, the new books that arrived from Book Depository!!!! WOOHOO 😀 (took forever am i right?)

As I have mentioned before, I am now taking a course called Other Literatures in English (Introduction to African Literature) taught by my favourite professor. We have totally four course readings and they are all novels. I don’t really know much about African literature (yeah and it has been five weeks haha). All I understand now is that we cannot really define “Africa” “African people” and “African Literature” simply because of the cultural, historical and geographical diversities in the continent of Africa. If we say “African people” or “African culture” or you know, anything African, my professor will literally stand up and point at you and look at you like OH NO YOU DIDN’T!!!!!

Yesh, so, the novels. Here you go, take a look 🙂

IMG_8358

These two are The Palm-Wine Drinkard by Amos Tutuola and Foe by J.M. Coetzee. I have read ten pages or so of the first book today and so far, it is nice. Last week, I got to finish Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe and I really like it. I love how the story shows the comparison between that Niger tribe before and after colonisation and how the protagonist (Okonkwo) dealt with it. I hope the rest of the novels are interesting, too. There is another book that I received last time called The Return of the Water Spirit by Pepetela, which I will have to present on. So wish me luck 🙂

Now I am sitting on my bed, watching Harry Potter The Deathly Hallows Part 2 AND typing my German writing task. 🙂 I hope i can make some progress with my short story later tonight. Just last night, I mentioned on my Facebook that it is ironic how my name here is called Potential Poet in Training but I have not posted any poems lately. I wish to be a poet/writer(i think in general, a writer) but sometimes ideas for poems come and go and I really got inspired to write my current short story. A big shout out to my friend Carmen who probably is the only one who have read all my post.

-Potential Poet in Training

2 thoughts on “African Literature part 2

  1. SUP PPIT (what a lousy name it is but I like your idea of starting poetry in your life) 🙂

    I don’t know anything about African Literature in English, but I once started a few pages of Things Fall Apart and the book was fascinating. Do tell us what parts you enjoyed most and perhaps other equally interesting reads. And don’t forget your wonderful annual short story project. Don’t let your fire die down.

    Like

    1. Hey Pash 🙂 thanks for the support. I am having some new ideas with my short story/novella project so currently I am drafting a new… direction. But everything is good so far.
      As for the parts I enjoyed the most and equally interesting reads… First, in Things Fall Apart, my favourite part is when the priestess takes Ezinma(Okonkwo’s favourite daughter) away to do who-knows-what. Ekwefi, the mother and second wife of Okonkwo, has always been the weak one (like all other female characters in the novel) and pitiful because of all her dead children. However, she shows her tigress side by being brave and protective to follow the priestess, knowing that it is forbidden and she would be cursed and all. BUT, motherhood triumphs over everything and that was really a very intense part in the book. When I was reading that part, i kept imagining the pitch dark wilderness and hearing the creepy priestess’ chant. More heartwarming is how Okonkwo reacted. He is always this tough character, fierce and sometimes scary. Despite how he loves his daughter, he never speaks of it. But, action speaks louder than words somethings and this is one of the example. Knowing he cares so much, enough to leave home, walk to the cave and back home again and again to check on his wife and daughter is so heartwarming.

      I also really like how Achebe divided the book into three parts. It shows comparison between the life before and after colonisation in Nigeria. How things fall apart when they were totally fine as they were after the white men came a’knocking. It makes you think, especially when we were colonised before.

      As to any equally interesting reads, I don’t really have any in mind because I still don’t know much about African literature. however, I have done some research and it seemed that Things Fall Apart is actually in a trilogy called The African Trilogy (the other two books being “No Longer At Ease” and “Arrow of God”). The stories are somehow connected, for example, the second book of the trilogy (No Longer At Ease) tells the story of Okonkwo’s grandson going to a Christian school. As time moves on in the trilogy, i think it would be interesting to follow up the story of the Okonkwo written by Achebe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

